University of South Australia

The University of South Australia was established in 1991. It is an open-access research institution that is affiliated with the Association of Commonwealth Universities and Australian Technology Network. The university is South Australia's largest, with 32,000 students. Many research centres are located on the university campus. They also house departments in commerce, law, management and pharmacy. The university also has an open-air art gallery.

UniSA is a top university in the world, being ranked among the Top 50 Under 50 (universities that are less than 50 years old) by the Quacarelli Symonds World University Ranking (#29), and Times Higher Education(THE (#25). There are two campuses in Adelaide's city centre, two campuses in Adelaide and two campuses within the metropolitan area. It also has two campuses in South Australia.


Two campuses are located in Adelaide's city centre, both on North Terrace. There are also two campuses at Mawson Lakes (formerly The Levels and Magill), as well as two campuses at metropolitan locations (at Mawson Lakes and Magill). There are also two campuses in regional South Australia (Whyalla or Mount Gambier). The University of South Australia also offers offshore degree programs with private institutions in Hong Kong Baptist University, and other institutions of higher education throughout Asia.

All facilities are available on campus. The library is a collection of thousands of books, magazines, and journals. The library also offers online access to books for students. The campus provides a learning environment that is conducive to student success. There are also digital classrooms and an auditorium on the campus. Participation in seminars, festivals, events, competitions and debates is a hallmark of the university. The university has 31966 students. The university offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programs. The university's academic curriculum includes a variety of subjects, which are divided into the School of Health Sciences and School of Art, Architecture and Design. School of Marketing, School of Information Technology and Mathematic Sciences, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences and School of Commerce. School of Law, School of Creative Industries and School of Engineering.


Students have the option to select from a variety of courses, which allows them to pick what interests them. Students learn from highly qualified faculty members. Many industry professionals also visit the university to give lectures, workshops and participate in interactive sessions. Two research centres and institutes are located at the university, Bass Institute for Marketing & Centre for Cancer Biology. Students can also work as interns in renowned companies. A list of prominent alumni includes Andrew Baines, D.M Cornish, Essington Lewis (Chairman at BHP Group), Poh Liing Yeow (Famous chef), Phillip Coorey(Journalist), Sally Sara (“Television journalist”), Barbara Hanrahan (“Writer”) and Sarah Cumming (“News reporter”).


The QS World University Rankings ranks the University of South Australia among the top 300 universities in the world. It is also ranked in the 251-300th bracket of the 2020 Times Higher Education World University Rankings. EQUIS has fully accredited UniSA Business School. EQUIS only accredited 200 universities around the world. In 2015, 97% of UniSA research was rated world-class or higher in the Excellence in Research for Australia rankings. This was increased to 100% in 2018, with UniSA's research rated at or above the world-class level.

Frequently asked questions