Fluminense Federal University

Fluminense Federal University

It is located in the state of Rio de Janeiro. Fluminense Federal University is a public institution of higher education situated primarily in Niteroi and other cities in Rio de Janeiro state. The institution was founded on the 18th of December in 1960 under the name Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UFERJ) as a result of the integration of several academic colleges within Niteroi. Niteroi. On November 5 in 1965, the current name was adopted as official.

It is regarded as one of the most important research centers in Brazil which is listed in 17th (out of the 68) nation within the Center for World University Rankings of the top universities as well as 889th (out of 1000) in the world rankings. UFF is among the top 25 institutions within Latin America, according to research released in the Webometrics Ranking of World Universities. In addition, UFF has become the sixteenth-largest university in the nation as well as the sixth largest public university , and the third-largest federal university in the world.


UFF was established in 1960, with the name Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UFERJ). The school was founded by combining five federal institutions that were already in Niteroi and three state institutions, and two private universities and was incorporated into the federal government, and later changed to Universidade Federal Fluminense (Federal Fluminense University).

After a turbulent start and an internal power struggle resulting from the various administrations at the university and the military-run government that was in place at the time established an outline arrangement that would be used by the University to its departments and units. As was the case with other institutions of that time, the principal purpose of the University was education with a focus on resources to prepare citizens for professional advancement. Research played an official role Extension programs performed different purposes, with the main goal of providing services to the general public. In the present, these are the three main pillars that make up the University.

In the early 1990s, UFF expanded and began to offer new programs at various towns within the regions within Rio de Janeiro state. Based on these programs new colleges and departments were created. In the early 2000s these regional units were called University Centers (Polos Universitarios da UFF)

Location (campuses)

Its main campus and the majority amount of UFF units are in Niteroi. Apart from Niteroi the university also has academic institutions in other cities in the Rio de Janeiro state, as well as its Federal University present in the most municipalities across the nation.

UFF is also a member of the CEDERJ Consortium, which teaches online undergraduate courses in distance learning through centers that are located inside Rio de Janeiro state. Rio de Janeiro state.

Within the town of Niteroi (its its headquarters)

There are three major campus in this city. Vermelha Campus, Praia and Gragoata Campus, beyond other places in the same city.

Valonguinho campus is located near the ferryboat terminal that connects up to Rio de Janeiro city and is home to the courses in Biology Sciences, Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry Nutrition, Dentistry and business Administration, Accounting Sciences, Management Processes, Speech Therapy and Veterinarian Medicine.

Gragoata Campus hosts the History, Anthropology, Social Sciences, Public Policies, Philosophy, Sociology, Psychology, Pedagogy, Letters (German, Spanish, French, Greek, English, Italian, Latin and Portuguese/Literatures), Social Service, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, Hotel Management, Public Administration, Social Service, International Relations, Tourism and Physical Education courses. This Gragoata Campus has led to a transformation in the area in which it is situated which was once primarily residential to a place with cafes, restaurants, and other cultural zones.

Praia Vermelha Campus hosts all Engineering courses offered by the university (Chemical, Civil Engineering, Electrical, Environmental and Agricultural, Environmental and Water Resources, Mechanical, Petroleum, Production and Telecommunications) as well as the Architectural as well as Urbanism, Industrial Design, Public Safety, Computational Mathematics and Computational Physics. Computer Systems, Computing Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Geophysics and Physics.

Alongside the teaching structures, UFF is also in charge of the Antonio Pedro University Hospital, Veterinary Hospital, Geraldo Reis University School (Elementary and High School), UFF Arts Center[1111 (a complex of culture that includes galleries for photography and art) Cinema.

Frequently asked questions