Charles Sturt University

Charles Sturt University

Charles Sturt University is an Australian multi-campus public institution situated within New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, Victoria and Queensland. It was established in 1989. was named after captain Charles Napier Sturt, a British explorator who traveled into the regions of New South Wales and South Australia.

The University is dedicated to providing an environment that is welcoming to the community and a learning environment that promotes cutting-edge research, enhances society, and provides a boost to the regions it serves. The university's philosophy is based on the Wiradjuri term yindyamarra winhanganha that means wisdom of being able to live effectively in a society that is worth living in.

Charles Sturt offers more than 350 courses, including the undergraduate and postgraduate and higher degrees in research and single subject studies. The college also has collaborations with various TAFE establishments across the United States.

The University has several campuses located in Bathurst Albury-Wodonga and Bathurst, Dubbo, Port Macquarie, Orange, and Wagga Wagga. It also houses specialization campuses located at Goulburn, Manly, Canberra as well as Parramatta. The campuses that are specialist locations of the university are known for providing specific courses such as theology, education and police work. In fact, the courses offered by the university are taught in conjunction in conjunction with Study Group Australia at the University's Study Centres located which are located in Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney and Wangaratta. The vast campus of the university is equipped with facilities, including TV studios, the latest technology in computing and science laboratories broadcasting studios, an simulated hospital.

The university provides a range of postgraduate and undergraduate programs. The Distance Education program is available at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels along in the Single Subject Study program. Additionally, CSU has several course delivery collaborationswith several TAFE colleges across Australia. Business, Justice & Behavioural Sciences, Arts and Education and Science are the three faculties of the university which include several schools and centers for specific areas of study and research.


Charles Sturt's three Faculties (Arts and Education Business, Justice & Behavioural Sciences and Science) comprise several Centres and Schools for specific fields of research and study.


Charles Sturt University has four Research Centres and three faculties. They were designed to unite the staff on a consistent topic.

University Research Centres make use of their resources to draw external funding to support their work by finding, pursuing and sharing leadership in the field in collaboration with international and quality research partners. The research conducted in the Centres is complemented by the work conducted by other Faculties of the University.


We believe that the Career Service is one of the ways we can provide you an edge when you graduate. If you choose to study with us, you'll receive:

career development workshops

Help in finding work experience placements

individual sessions to meet our professional development professionals

suggestions for how to apply for jobs and resumes strategies for interviews and strategies for job searching.

Student Life

Life on campus

The CSU's NSW campuses are situated in some of Australia's most rapidly growing cities in the region, and offer an exceptional learning experience that gives access to the very best urban living and the advantages of a regional life style.

Large campuses have enabled the creation of fully functional, hands-on, and hands-on teaching facilities, which include:

Modern computer and scientific laboratories

Television studios

Broadcasting studios

A hospital simulation.

Our facilities differentiate us from other universities, and allow students to acquire the knowledge needed to be ready for work from the beginning of their first year of study.

Sport facilities

Basketball court located on the Albury campus

Small grassy area in Thurgoona residences to kick footballs and throwing Frisbees and more.

Hume as well as Hovell walking tracks meander through Thurgoona campus

Bike trail that connects the majority parts of Albury with Wodonga is located near the Thurgoona campus. It will connect directly to the Thurgoona campus within the next year or so.

Thurgoona tennis court (a only a few hundred meters away from campus)

Ovals that have lighting designed for rugby league, soccer, and rugby union

Training area with lights

Fully equipped gym for exercise

Outdoor sports area that caters to basketball, tennis, and netball with lighting

Indoor sports facilities that cater to indoor sports like volleyball, netball, basketball and more.


Charles Sturt University Charles Sturt University has been classified between 801 and 1,000 for three consecutive years, 2018-2019 and 2021, by QS World University Ranking. QS Ranking puts maximum focus on academic Reputation (40 percent) and then the Faculty/Student ratio and the number of Citations per Faculty, with a combined 20.

The university is ranked somewhere between the range of 801 to 100 according to Times Higher Education University ranking. According to the US News & World Report - Global Universities has ranked the university as 736 for 2021. Times Higher Education (THE) gives equal weight to Research, Teaching and Citations, with a combined 30 percent each. In addition, the US News & World Report includes Global Research Reputation, Regional Research Reputation, and Number of Publications cited (12.5% each) in addition to other ranking factors as part of their methodology for ranking.

Alumni Network

Alumni from Charles Sturt University is constituted by more than 180,000 professionals, business leaders and politicians, scientists and defense professionals, as well as agricultural experts who are known for their outstanding contributions to the local, national and international level. Furthermore, members of the alumni of the university include TV anchors Amanda Keller, Latika Bourke, Andrew Denton, and Hamish Macdonald.

Frequently asked questions